Wow! Narendra Modi becomes India’s 4TH longest-serving PM

On Thursday, PM Modi became the fourth longest-serving PM in Indian history, after JL Nehru, Indira Gandhi and Dr Manmohan Singh.

However, PM Modi is the first longest-serving Indian PM of non-Congress origin, surpassing late Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

Narendra Modi took oath as the 14th Prime Minister of the country on May 26, 2014. He has been sworn in as the Prime Minister of India again after a landslide victory in the 2019 Lok Sabha election on May 30, 2019.

It is worth mentioning that Jawaharlal Nehru remains the longest-serving Indian PM so far. His tenure lasted for around 17 years.

While Nehru’s daughter Indira Gandhi served two terms of little more 11 years and nearly five years respectively.

Dr Manmohan Singh served two consecutive terms of 5 years each.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button